Skip to content ↓

Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework

This is the stage in a child's life that gets them ready and prepares them for school, as well as for their future learning and successes. The EYFS was created to ensure that a child's first 5 years are happy, active, exciting, fun and secure, as well as to support their development, care and learning needs.

Learning and development covers the 7 key areas of learning within the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which are:

  • personal, social and emotional development
  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

The documents below explain the Curriculum and Learning Goals.